Council of Scholars

The Council of Scholars consists of distinguished scholars or academic administrators, with expertise in the humanities and sciences, elected by the Board of Trustees. The Council of Scholars contributes to the development of AALE standards and policies and participates in the accreditation process by reviewing applications and providing recommendation to the Board concerning the extent to which AALE standards have been met by an applicant.

The composition of the Council of Scholars is reviewed annually to ensure a range of experience suited to fulfill the duties of the Council. Council of Scholars members are elected to serve four-year terms.

Please send questions about the nomination process and serving on the Council of Scholars to the Executive Director at